Breakfast (or dinner) of Champions!

LIVER! That’s right- sometimes I have  liver for breakfast!

Yuck- you say?! Well, maybe you should give it another chance.

“Organ meats are extremely rich in fat-soluble vitamins A & D, as well as essential fatty acids, important very-long chain superunsaturated fatty acids and the whole gamut of macro and trace minerals. Wild animals eat the organs of thier kill first, thus showing a wisdom superior to our own. The first solid food that native African mothers give to their babies is raw liver, which they thoughtfully chew for them. Folk wisdom throughout the world, including Europe, values brains as a food for babies and growing children”   Sally Fallon, Nourishing Traditions

I absolutely love liver and try to eat it at least once a week. Its so important for healing with all of the nutrients it packs in.

“Not only does liver provide copper, zinc, iron, vitamins A and D in abundance, but it is also a rich source of antioxidants- substances that help your own liver remove toxic substances from the body.” Sally Fallon, Nourishing Traditions

If you are going to try liver I suggest starting with chicken liver, from organic chickens, of course. Chicken, in my opinion, tends to be less offensive if you are not used to eating liver. I have a hard time eating beef liver- I hate the smell of it! I usually end up choking it down, and gagging the whole time! Why do I torture myself? Well, for the health benefits- of course!! I read somewhere that soaking the liver in lemon juice helps it to not be so pungent in regards to taste and smell.  I have not tried the lemon juice yet, but next time I buy beef liver I will be sure to. I really do want to enjoy my food.

This is why I prefer chicken liver.

The easiest and simplest way is to fry it up with some veggies like bell peppers, onions and garlic. I like to throw in mushrooms too. I usually use coconut oil to cook with, but sometimes I use butter. You can always soak the chicken liver in lemon juice if you still don’t like the smell/ taste. I think you will find that the taste gets somewhat masked by the strong flavor of the onions, garlic and bell peppers.

Oh- and I’m not afraid to throw some organic, uncured bacon in the mix too! I think it is just delicious!

Unfortunately, I still cannot get Blake to eat liver. I keep offering it to him and he is finally starting to maybe considering trying a bite. I think with kids we need to not force them into trying new things, but continually offer it to them and encourage at least a bite. If they refuse now, they still may come around someday. Also, I think it helps when they see parents eating it too, it sort of becomes the “norm”. I still have hopes that he will try it and like it, I’ve got my fingers crossed anyway.

In the meantime, I still want to get liver in his diet, and if he won’t eat it like this I need to be creative. Sometimes I put it in with ground beef or turkey when we make spaghetti or burgers. I need to find some more ways to get it in. If he isn’t going to eat a full meal of liver, my goal is to try and sneak it in at least 2-3 times a week.

I hope you give liver a try, or at least try and sneak some into your diet if you can.

Gallery | This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breakfast (or dinner) of Champions!

  1. Christa says:

    I haven’t been able to eat liver since I was a kid. it’s a texture thing, I think. Cook it for me next time I’m at your house, and i’ll give it a try again!

  2. Trudi says:

    Have you tried SF’s raw liver tonic yet? We did … once….. Very unique and, uh…. Interesting!

  3. Pingback: So- “What do you eat?” | ournourishingjourney

  4. Nicole says:

    The only way I can do liver is cutting, freezing them into pills and quickly getting it down with raw milk. I’ve noticed just by taking an ounce a day it really helps to a point where I do not miss it. I do cook it for my daughter and put it in her tacos and she inhales it. Poor kid, the smell is horrid but she eats it. 🙂 I try not to gag when I cook the beef liver. I have chicken livers, I’m just not brave. 🙂 Might try this for the chicken livers I have? Or fry them in lard? Ahhh, I’m so scared! LOL

    • Linnae says:

      LOL!! The chicken livers are way easier to tolerate than the beef livers! And yes- definitely fry them in lard or butter- they are actually pretty tasty when cooked in fat. Also, I really load up the garlic and bell peppers- that seems to help! Good luck!!!

      • Nicole says:

        I already have a lump in my throat! I would not do ANY of this if the benefits were not worth it……I’m so scared! LOL hahaha

      • Linnae says:

        Be brave and start small! The benefits certainly are worth it!! You can do it! Think about it like you are eating one of the most wonderful, healthful foods and not that its gross. Its all about mind control! If you think its gonna be good- it will, if you think its gonna be gross- it will! So, use lots of “masking” flavored foods like garlic, onions and peppers and then talk yourself into it tasting good! You will do great!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

