So- “What do you eat?”

Whenever I tell people that my son had autism and now because of (mostly) dietary changes he is “cured”, they are amazed. And, of course, they always want to know how we did it and what changes we have made?

My first response is always, “Well, we cut out gluten, dairy, corn, soy, eggs, nuts, sugar, grains and starches. It’s really complex- we are on the GAPS diet.”

And, the reaction is always the same, “Well, then what CAN he eat?” with a horrified look on their face.

Most people have not even heard of the GAPS diet, let alone comprehend the amount of food restrictions we have made.

And, since the majority of people I talk to are used to eating processed and convenience foods, they think we are starving because we are not eating breads and chips and such, but this is the farthest thing from the truth!

In response to “What can he eat?”, I simply say that he eats real animal protein, vegetables, fruits and lots of healthy fats. It’s really the simplest diet you can imagine- it’s just not what people are used to anymore.

So, for all the wonderers I thought I would give you an example of a typical days meals for both Blake and I.

There are a few requirements that I make sure we get into every meal and snack, and those are: protein, healthy carb, healthy fat and probiotic foods. And, since we are doing the GAPS diet we also sip on bone broth as much as possible.

So, here goes-

Breakfast:

  • Homemade breakfast sausage , sometimes bacon, liver  or leftovers from dinner if I have enough.
  • Steamed veggies, usually carrots, cauliflower and green beans. 
  • Small amount of squash or navy  or lima beans
  • Lots of grass fed butter or coconut oil
  • Power Packed Smoothie  which includes coconut water kefir as the probiotic food
  • Cup of bone broth

Dinner:

  • Some type of meat (organic, of course!)- chicken, fish, ground beef, etc. Our staples are oven baked chicken, spaghetti**, hamburgers, salmon, and turkey hash (ground turkey with a bunch of veggies and seasonings).
  • Steamed veggies again. I have found that we both digest cooked veggies much better than raw so the majority of our vegetables are cooked,  so my steamer basket gets LOTS of use!!
  • Small amount of squash or navy or lima beans
  • Lots of grass fed butter or coconut oil
  • Cup of bone broth

Lunch:

  • Leftovers from the previous nights supper- meat and veggies. I use a hot food thermos  for Blake’s lunch so that it stays warm until lunch time at school.
  • Fruit- small amount like a handful of blueberries or a small pear
  • Coconut flakes- raw and unsweetened
  • Lacto-fermented sauerkraut or pickles
  • Cup of bone broth when we are home. Unfortunately Blake’s lunch box isn’t big enough to send it to school.

Part of balancing your blood sugar, which is crucial for both Blake and I, is to eat every 2-3 hours. We both have hypoglycemia and if we go longer than 3 hours without eating we start to feel pretty yucky. So, we eat… all day long!

Snacks: (4x per day)

  • Breakfast sausage, soup, nitrate and sugar free lunch meat (1000Hills Cattle Company has a delicious beef summer sausage) or chicken from the bone broth that I make (2x a week)
  • Raw veggies like carrots and celery sticks or a little fruit
  • Sesame seed butter (tahini) with a little honey added or coconut flakes (raw and unsweetened) or half an avocado
  • Lacto-fermented sauerkraut or pickles or homemade probiotic soda

So, you see, we are not starving. In fact, we eat more than most people do in the course of a day. We feel healthy and satiated and our meals and snacks are balanced so that our blood sugar is balanced. We have productive days and we are full of energy.

The only complaint that I have about eating this way is that it is a lot of work and planning. But, seeing the progress that Blake has made it’s well worth it! You can read Blake’s story here.

I still get tears of joy every single day when I look at my son and see how far he has come.   I am amazed at how our bodies have the ability to heal and at how much food makes a difference.

I am curious, what do your typical daily meals look like? And, how do you feel eating the way you do?

**Update- I just realized that when i said spaghetti is one of our staples most people probably think of noodles and pasta sauce. Well, we have pasta sauce but no noodles. Sometimes its just tomato sauce with a bunch of veggies and sometimes we  pour the tomato sauce over spaghetti squash or zucchini “noodles”. I just wanted to clarify- no pasta in our house! 🙂

This post is part of Sunday School, Melt in your mouth monday

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So- “What do you eat?”

  1. Oh, I’m so thankful you wrote this. I’m still on the INtro phase of the diet, and my meals are a lot of proteins, meat, and vegetables….and I’m doing so well. I’m feeling better than I have in YEARS…and it’s really neat.

    I’ve never had anyone ask me “What CAN you eat”?…but I usually face “condescention” whenever I mention that I”m following this diet/ or mention that I take a more natural approach to real food etc well, not from EVERYONE…but from people who don’t know anything about real food..

    I don’t do any dairy except for raw milk yogurt that’s been incubated for full 24 hours, according to GAPS guidelines. I was wondering what your thoughts on raw milk are…or do you avoid that entirely on the GAPS?

    Isn’t awesome that something so simple as a change in diet, can do so much GOOD? 🙂 🙂 🙂 I”m really happy to hear that your son is doing so well!!! The proof is really in the pudding…and I find that I have MORE freedom on this diet, bec ause it’s causing me to look at more foods, and cook for myself. Before this, I tended to eat a lot of processed foods. in any case, I’ll get off my soapbox 😉 🙂

    Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 🙂

    • Linnae says:

      Heather!! I love hearing from you!! Its great that you are having success with the GAPS diet as well. I am all for raw milk if you can get it. Currently my son and I are both sensitive to dairy, I am hoping that someday we will be able to introduce it again. I really miss yogurt!!!
      I really love that the internet connects people like this so we can share stories and learn from each other!!

  2. That’s really fantastic Linnae. Sometime people ask me about Gaps and I have a hard time defining it because my husband and I don’t have any problems or restrictions with food. However it’s amazing how much GAPS safe food and recipes we make. People just don’t get not eating processed food or wheat. I’ll make sure to send people your way. It sites like this that change peoples lives.

  3. Pingback: Sunday School Blog Carnival #20 | Butter Believer

  4. growingslower sent me a link to this post. We’re just starting the GF/CF diet as my son is showing some red flags for autism. I look forward to exploring your site further. There seems to be so much to learn here!

  5. Pingback: Agriculture Society » My GAPS Experience for Panic Disorder & GAPS Radio Interview

Leave a Reply

