Spinach Salad with Sardines & Crispy Prosciutto

Yesterday for lunch I had those most amazing salad!

I found the recipe in the most recent publication of Whole Living magazine. I was thumbing through, it looked good and I had most of the ingredients so I gave it a go.

I am definitively making this again- totally yummy! I loved the contrast of flavors- salty balanced with sweet and sour on a bed of fresh greens!

I am betting I can get Blake to eat sardines when they are served this way!!

Do you eat sardines? If not, you should give ’em a try.

They are packed full of nutrition-

  • They provide 3x more calcium and phosphorus than milk
  • More iron than cooked spinach
  • As much protein steak
  • As much potassium as bananas
  • 885 mg of DHA
  • 210 mg of EPA
  • Good source of B12
  • Good source of Selenium
  • Good source of Vitamin D
  • Also good source of Coenzyme Q10

See- all that good stuff makes you wanna at least try sardines? Right? 😉

Here’s the how to:

Ingredients

Notes:

I made one change to this, I didn’t have raisins so I used fresh grapes instead. I think the raisins would have been better.

This salad inspired me, while I was eating it I kept thinking that this would be really good with grilled or saute’d pears! Maybe I would eliminate the sardines if I add the pears… not sure yet, though. I will let you know how that goes if I try it. 🙂

Sooooo….. are you gonna try some yummy, good for you sardines?

This post is part of Sugar Free Sunday, Sunday School, Make your own monday

Gallery | This entry was posted in recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spinach Salad with Sardines & Crispy Prosciutto

  1. hännah says:

    I have just recently ventured into the land of sardines and am still getting the hang of it. Today, I made a wonderful sardine spread that I think will become one of my staples. I think your salad will be the next thing I try, though!

  2. I love sardines and wish my husband was more into them. This will make a perfect lunch for 1! Lucky me.

    • Linnae says:

      I had enough left over to make it twice!! So for me it was 2 perfect lunches for 1! There is noooo way my husband would try this either… my son, maybe. 🙂

  3. Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasures’ Make Your Own! Monday link-up.

    Check back later tonight when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

