Pickled Pea Shoots

My Pickle-It jars have gotten so much use since I received them just 3 weeks ago! They haven’t been out of use not even once yet!

My latest experiment was pickling pea shoots!

Last weekend I picked up a big bunch of pea shoots from the farmers market and I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with them… at first I thought I would just eat them in salads or maybe make a stir fry but then I got this crazy idea- why not PICKLE them!!

That’s just so me!! So, that’s what I did- I pickled ’em!

I washed them up and cut them into about 2 inch pieces and put them in the Pickle-It jar. Then, I peeled and chopped up 3 cloves of garlic and added a basic pickling spice. Lastly, I poured over the veggies and spices a nice salt water brine of 5tbsp fine ground pink sea salt dissolved in about 8 cups water. I mashed down the veggies and added the Dunk’r. Then I closed up the lid and let it sit for about 3 days.

On Thursday morning I transferred it to the fridge and finally tasted it today.

It’s different, as most fermented foods are when you first try them.

It tastes just like a pickle and the texture is kind of like cooked spinach.

All in all I like this ferment!

This post is part of Fat Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Traditional Tuesdays , Gluten Free Wednesdays

Gallery | This entry was posted in recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pickled Pea Shoots

  1. I’m wishing I had a pickle it jar!!!

  2. Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasures’ Make Your Own! Monday link-up.

    Check back later tonight when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

