Farmer Market Haul + Kale Sausage Recipe

Well, I did it again! Made a haul again at the MPLS farmers market– man I just love that place!

Here’s what I snagged up this week:

4 large bunches of lettuce, 2 large bunches spinach, 1 large bunch of kale, 1.5lbs of asparagus,  strawberries, green beans garlic scapes, bananas, cucumbers, 6 free range organic eggs, peas and flowers. This week I spent $45 as opposed to $30 last week, but I just couldn’t resist the asparagus and the strawberries. (Later this week I’m gonna tell you what I did with the asparagus!!!)

Oh! These strawberries are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! They are local, organic and the sweetest berries I have ever eaten!!

I also picked up some garlic scapes, I’ve never used them before and I had fun experimenting with them. Last night I threw some into a stir fry and they were pretty good. I think I will be picking these up more often.

Now on to the recipe!

Blake and I LOVE breakfast sausage! Protein is the perfect way to start the day and these are great when you can’t eat eggs. I am always experimenting with recipes so that we don’t get bored since we eat sausage pretty much every day. I try and make a big batch on Sundays to heat and go during the week. This weeks was really, really good and it packs in some greens- bonus! 

Ingredients:

  • Ground meat- I used a mix of 1 lb of turkey and 1 lb chicken and threw in some chicken liver too!
  • Chopped up about one cup kale
  • Seasoned with fresh garlic, salt and pepper, red pepper flakes and a little cumin

Then, I mixed it all up in a big bowl and cooked like you would a burger.

These are not only great for breakfast but they taste good cold and are a great afternoon snack as well! Protein is a great way to curb that energy slump you can get between lunch and dinner.

Tell me… have you visited your local farmers market yet?

Don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers this week!!

This post is part of Fat Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Traditional Tuesdays, Gluten Free Wednesdays

Gallery | This entry was posted in recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Farmer Market Haul + Kale Sausage Recipe

  1. heatherhappy says:

    OH, love all the produce you got at the farmer’s market. It looks so GOOD 🙂 🙂 🙂 Yes, my father and I also believe in starting out the day with protein, too 🙂 🙂 Love and hugs from the ocean shores of California, Heather 😉

  2. Rogene says:

    I’ve made my own sausage like this but never thought of adding greens. Looks really good. I’d go make some now if I had ingredients on hand.

  3. What a nice idea to add kale to the sausage. We love our market, but wish we could get your prices! 🙂

Leave a Reply

