Garden Week 7

It has been hot, hot, HOT here the past few weeks and the garden is just loving it!

It’s amazing to think the garden went from this:

To this:

In just 7 weeks!

All I can say is nature is just amazing!!

Look at all those peas ready to pick!!

I have 7 rows of cucumbers!! All different varieties!!

They are just raging right now- look at all those flowers!!

And the zucchini and summer squash are starting to form!

Last year I got the squash borer bug and lost all of my plants so this year I have been keeping an eye on them. Yesterday when I took these pics there was no sign of damage, but today when I went out there were yellow, dusty like stuff on the stems of a few plants, which is a sign of the squash borer.  I had to do “surgery” and cut open the stems of a few plants and literally pull the worms out! I did this “surgery” last year  but not until after the worm did a lot more damage. The plant still produced and lasted a couple weeks longer so I am hoping that by catching the suckers early I won’t loose too many. Fingers crossed!

Here’s my cute little bird hiding in the peas!

This is what I harvested yesterday!

And this is what I harvested today! Lots of peas!

I am just loving it!! Now I just need to start planning on how I will be preserving it all… where to start?!

Gallery | This entry was posted in garden 2012, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garden Week 7

  1. amandasworldofmotherhood says:

    Your garden is so beautiful and bountiful! I hope for mine to be like that next year. 🙂

    • Linnae says:

      This year the weather here has been perfect for the garden. Lots of hot and sunny days! I hope for your garden to be bountiful as well!!

  2. Molly says:

    Beautiful. Are you having to water? How often and how long do you water, if you do?

    • Linnae says:

      Yes I have been watering daily, first thing in the morning for about 45 min. We have had some very hot days, into the upper 90’s, and not much rain. The garden is very thirsty!!

  3. This garden is beautiful! We’re just getting into gardening for ourselves, and it’s been so exciting being able to make dinner from something we grew ourselves!

Leave a Reply

